Win a Literary Artist Contest

The Dr. Charles Allard Win-a-Literary Artist contest is an annual competition for schools and public libraries throughout Alberta to be award a $300 discount towards a Taleblazers visit by any of our touring artists. Applications are accepted May 1st - June 15th.

In order to win, teachers and librarians must fill out a Win-An-Artist form describing the challenges they face in encouraging literacy and the promotion of Canadian Literature, and explain how the Taleblazers presenter of their choice will complement their reading program. A panel of judges selects the 10 winners. The Young Alberta Book Society, through the generosity of the Dr. Charles Allard Foundation, covers $300.00 towards the professional artist fees for a Taleblazers booking. (Transportation and accommodation costs are covered by YABS as part of the Taleblazers Festival.)

This program facilitates meaningful connections between Albertan students and Albertan authors, illustrators, poets, playwrights and storytellers. Exposure to a "real, live author" inspires students' interest in developing communication and creative thinking skills and encourages self-expression. Whether that expression is humorous, serious or speculative; through illustrations or words; as history, science, drama or fiction -- Taleblazers Festival presenters empower children and young adults to make sense of their world, to share their ideas, and to communicate.

2018 Dr. Charles Allard Win-a-Literary-Artist Contest Winners

Graminia School Spruce Grove Judith Graves
St Mary School Westlock Bethany Ellis
Connaught School Calgary Rob Feagan
Glenbrook School Calgary Gail de Vos
Institutional School Services Edmonton Bethany Ellis
Bentley School Bentley Lorna Schultz Nicholson
Malcom Tweddle School Edmonton Bethany Ellis
Iron Ridge Junior Campus Blackfalds Natasha Deen
Woodhaven Middle School Spruce Grove Judith Graves
Olds High School Olds Marty Chan

In addition to the 10 visits generously sponsored by the Allard Foundation, we are very a happy to be able to award three additional discounts thanks to private donations we received during our Giving Tuesday drive last November. The following schools were selected:

S. Bruce Smith School Edmonton Steven Sandor
Foremost School Foremost Karen Gummo
Delia School Delia Alison Hughes


Congratulations to all of the recipients!